Saturday 2 March 2013

Three minutes of uncomfortable listening

What's that then?
It's HEHFU's tape, The Single Collection.
It does include some past releases, or singles, if you like, but this is about being single: they "focus on the break-up of my relationship and the feelings of loneliness, betrayal, false hope and depression...".
The ingredients of indie right there
Pretty much and very well done it is, too. There's furious Mary Chain noise, the scatter-gun approach of Guided By Voices and the rage of Joanna Gruesome in a garage rock ethic. This collection represents HEHFU at their best. They might not get it right every time, but they hit the right spot way more often than not, and they're better and stronger than they've been before.
Just three minutes?
Three minutes - or more often nearer two minutes - 12 times over.

No comments:

Post a Comment